Community effort brings raft of beach initiatives

A host of new initiatives aimed at improving Seaford beach for residents and visitors to enjoy has been underway – thanks to the hard work of a community partnership.   

Lewes District Council has worked in close partnership with a number of groups during the last year to bring about beach improvements including repair work to Splash Point that is now open after being shut off to the public since February following storm damage.   

As well as the district council, the Seaford Beach Partnership has included Seaford Town Council, The Environment Agency, Seaford Lifeguards, Newhaven Port and Properties, Neal Richardson, of Splash Point Music Ltd and swimmer who is part of Impact Seaford and Steve Tapp  a local angler, co-founder of LISA (Local Independent Sea Anglers) and the Anglers National Line Recycling Scheme.  

In addition to the works at Splash Point that were jointly funded by the district council, town council and the Environment Agency, the collaboration of the partnership has resulted in new dedicated recycling bins for used fishing lines, new beach safety signs along the entire bay and a beach user guide which includes Covid-19 safety guidance.   

Councillor Matthew Bird, Cabinet Member for Sustainability, said: “”We would like to thank all of the partners involved in these projects, which have been brilliant examples of multiple agencies working together with the community to increase resilience to climate change and a greater shared understanding of the priority issues we face.”   

Leader of Lewes District Council Councillor James MacCleary said: “This is a great package of improvements to Seaford Bay which I really welcome. Over the summer we’ve seen a lot more people visiting Seaford and we are keen to respond to that challenge positively. The District Council will continue to work with partners to make improvements to the seafront and find other ways to support the largest town in our district.” 

In the picture:-Neal Richardson, a local entrepreneur, sea swimmer and member of Impact Seaford

Councillor Matthew Bird, Lead Cabinet Member for Sustainability, Lewes District Council

Councillor Morag Everden, Seaford Town Council

Dave Collins, Harbour Master, Newhaven Port and Properties