People asked for views on proposed changes to local constituencies

The Boundary Commission for England has published its initial proposals for new parliamentary constituency boundaries.

The proposals increase the overall number of constituencies in England from 533 to 543 and aim to make them more equal in terms of the numbers of electors each constituency contains.

The Lewes constituency would become known as the Lewes County Constituency and have new areas added such as Jevington, Wannock, part of Willingdon, Stone Cross and Hankham and existing ones removed from the current make-up of the constituency including Chailey, Barcombe & Hamsey, Ditchling & Westmeston, Newick, Plumpton, Streat, East Chiltington & St John, and Wivelsfield.

An eight-week consultation period is underway allowing residents to share their views on the plans.

By visiting people can view maps of the proposed new constituencies, leave feedback and share their views on the constituency names